weight loss

Every Day Habits: Lemon Water

Starting our day with lemon water is something my husband and I started doing over a year ago. Not it’s a habit firmly planted in our morning routine. My guess is this isn’t the first time you’ve heard about drinking lemon water in the morning. It’s been touted as a healthy habit for many years and for good reason.

This article from Cleveland Clinic lists 7 healthy reasons to choose lemon water to begin your day. I particularly like getting the vitamin C, phytonutrients, and potassium boosts. Plus, it wakes up your taste buds and I find it refreshing.

I use about 1 tablespoon of lemon juice in a 16-ounce glass of room temperature water. Sometimes I add a tablespoon of liquid probiotic to my lemon water. This one is my favorite.

Over time, we’ve streamlined our lemon water routine by squeezing a bag of lemons at once, storing the juice in a bottle in the fridge. It usually lasts about a week.

In addition to our lemon water, I use the lemon juice in hot teas, homemade salad dressing, and as needed in recipes. I have heard you can also freeze lemon juice in ice trays, which I may try someday.

Do you start your day with lemon water too?

2 thoughts on “Every Day Habits: Lemon Water

  1. I do Adrienne! I’ve had lemon water, first thing on and off for years now but this last year I’ve had it every morning.
    I look out for extra large Italian lemons at my local Deli … they’re so full of juice!
    I also make a warm tea with lemon juice and fresh ginger, ( I often add a ginger and lemon tea bag too ) in the afternoon. It’s lovely and warming at the moment but delicious chilled too.
    I found the Cleveland Clinic article, really interesting , thanks Adrienne. I always have a glass of fresh water after my lemon to “rinse” and minimise any risk of damage to my teeth…. having discussed this with my dentist, but I don’t think it’s really a concern.
    Loving your new blog!

    Like

    1. Your Italian lemons sound delicious! I love to make ours with Meyer lemons when I can find them.
      I happen to have some fresh ginger in the fridge. I will make your drink this weekend.
      Great idea with the extra water after your lemon water. It just occurred to me that I drink black coffee immediately after my lemon water. I will have to ask my dentist about that next time I see her. It could be staining my teeth. Thanks, R! xo

      Like

Leave a comment