weight loss

Every Day Habits: Big Bowl of Fruits and Veggies

Part of being successful in any weight loss or fitness endeavor is being consistent with food choices and exercise. By being consistent, you develop habits that support your goals.

Over the last year, I have developed some every day habits that I want to share with you. The first one I want to tell you about is a big bowl of fruit and veggies that my husband and I share daily.

Bill and I started intermittent fasting last February. We eat between the hours of 1 pm and 7 pm and begin the day with lemon water followed by black coffee. We have our first meal around 1:00 pm and always start with a big, beautiful bowl of fresh fruit and vegetables. After we finish that, we eat whatever we’re having for lunch – usually a sandwich or wrap, a salad, a bowl of soup, or leftovers from the night before.

I know these bowls look like a lot of food and it is a lot of food! I eat half of this, which usually adds up to around 350 to 400 calories. I log everything into my Noom app to be sure.

Depending on how hungry I am, I shoot for about 500 to 600 calories for lunch so I’ve still got plenty of room for a turkey or hummus wrap or a big bowl of homemade veggie soup with some parmesan sprinkled on top. The fruit and vegetables are packed with vitamins, nutrients and fiber and they’re delicious. They also fill us up because most of the foods in our fruit and veggie bowl have a high water content.

But there is more to it than that. These foods have low calorie density. Mayo Clinic describes high and low calorie density like this: 

Simply put, energy density is the number of calories (energy) in a specific amount of food. High energy density means that there are a lot of calories in a little food. Low energy density means there are few calories in a lot of food. When you’re striving for weight loss, the goal is to eat low-energy-dense foods. That is, you want to eat a greater volume of food that’s lower in calories. This helps you feel fuller on fewer calories.Here’s a quick example with raisins and grapes. Raisins have a high energy density — 1 cup of raisins has about 434 calories. Grapes have a low energy density — 1 cup of grapes has about 82 calories.”

~ Mayo Clinic

There are other benefits to the fruit and veggie bowl: 

  • I am getting plenty of vitamin C by eating these bowls. No supplement needed. Right now, citrus is in season and so tasty. I buy loads of tangerines, oranges and grapefruit and we’re eating them in our bowls and as snacks. 
  • All this fiber is helping our digestion.  
  • We are upping our hydration levels, which in turn also helps digestion as well as energy levels. 

Fruits and veggies aren’t the only low calorie density foods. So are beans, grains, white fish, egg whites, chicken breasts and fat-free dairy (like Greek yogurt). If you are unsure of the calorie density of a food, use this math equation -> divide the food’s calories by its weight in grams. 

Here’s a link to a chart with some popular foods’ density: https://whartonmedicalclinic.com/…/Caloric%20Density.pdf

If you want to lose weight, try adding more low density foods to your diet and see if you notice the difference!

Adrienne

18 thoughts on “Every Day Habits: Big Bowl of Fruits and Veggies

  1. Yes! Paying attention to calorie density is so important! I do big veggie and fruit bowls for our first meal, and it feels good knowing that we all start the day with so many nutrients. Plus, it leaves less room for treats… I also eat my main meal on a big bed of greens (right now a mixture of arugula and kale); the volume makes the meal so much more filling, and I can have small portions of more calorie dense foods.

    Like

  2. It’s so helpful knowing what processes you follow to loose weight and then maintain. This bowl of fruit is a great idea. I try to always have a container of home made vegetable soup in the fridge, with lots of colourful veg and beans and sometimes vegetable frittata or a crust less quiche. This is particularly good made with roasted vegetables. Having these prepared, means that there’s always something available that’s nutritious and relatively low calorie that takes no effort or time to prepare. Stops me reaching for unhealthy high calorie snacks on a busy day!
    Rosemary xxx

    Like

    1. Hi Rosemary,
      I was thinking about that the other day. I haven’t been discussing one of the most important things about how I lost my weight – what I eat! I do eat what I want but with the caveat that I don’t make something high calorie the main thing I eat. So a fruit and veggie bowl, then maybe a little BLT. I always start with the healthy foods that fill you up, then move on to the higher calorie foods or meal. And yes, veggie soup is another example of a low calorie dense food that will fill you up and is chock full of nutrients. Prepping ahead is so key too! You’ve got some great habits already! xo

      Like

  3. Hi Adrienne,

    You are inspiring me to try to loose the 10 pounds I’ve gained during this pandemic. I am wondering if you get hungry in the afternoon and if you have any snack suggestions, that time is always my downfall.
    Loving your new blog.

    Thanks,

    Katherine

    Like

    1. Hi Katherine,
      I do usually have an afternoon snack. I have various things I reach for. Sometimes I have some raw or roasted almonds – about 1/2 ounce to an ounce (nuts have a high calorie density so I am careful with them), or some crackers and a little cheese. For some reason, I like salty crunchy things in the afternoon rather than sweet snacks.
      Thank you for the kind words and for stopping by the blog today!
      Adrienne

      Like

  4. Adrienne,

    It’s good to see you blogging again! I read all your posts so far and find them helpful and motivating. Late December I saw your post on IG about Noom. At that point I was 10 pounds over weight and only going up and feeling awful so I tried it out. I appreciated the articles the most. I have issues with weight (psychologically mostly) and a long family history behind it that effected me as a child and to this very day. Anyway, I only used it for a month carrying some new information with me when I left. In January I decided enough was enough and put together a plan that I could stick with ( I cannot do any sort of deprivation) and have now lost the weight. But it is a life long plan now and I follow most of what you are talking about. Anyway your blog is going to be so helpful and motivating for so many women. So many of us think after a certain age we can’t change things. But we can. I am 60 and I know we can!

    Peace!
    Cheryl
    southwesterndesertliving.com

    Like

    1. Hi Cheryl,
      That is great that you were able to make some adjustments to your lifestyle that resulted in reaching your goals. I, too, have some childhood issues around weight. I am relieved to finally have some healthy habits to rely on and hope to not slip into old ways – crash dieting, overeating and getting hung up on the numbers on the scale.
      When I was at my most miserable – heavy and feeling horrible with back pain, knee issues, foot pain – I googled and googled looking for help for women over 50. I didn’t find much and what I did find, didn’t help me. I didn’t want to take any hormones – that was the main advice – or do low carb again. The truth is, there are things most of us can do after 50 to be more fit and lose weight if we want to or need to. I want to get that message out because I want every woman who felt as I did know you can change it!
      Thank you for your kind and informative comment. I appreciate it! Adrienne

      Like

  5. Wow, now I really want a big bowl of fruit. This is a great tip! I’m going to try and start eating a piece of fruit or some raw veggies before I eat meals, thanks for the idea! Love this post and love you!

    Like

  6. You are right. Dieting doesn’t help you in the long run. It just makes you “yo-yo” as we call it. You gain all the weight you lost again and often more.
    Eating in a healthy way and monitoring that, is the only way. You have taking it a step further with intermittent fasting and it clearly pays off.
    I usually take 2 pieces of fruit a day and I drink a lot of water. I think I am going to increase on the fruit. It looks delicious.
    Greetje

    Like

    1. That happened to me time after time – lose the weight on low carb, stop low carb, gain it all back and then some. As unhappy as I was being heavy, I was not going to go down that road again. It was time to learn to eat in the real world. I will have to continue to monitor what I eat going forward, as long as I want to stay around this weight. I am okay with that. The more effort I put into it, the more I learn and that makes it easier.
      I love the fruit and veggie bowls – and I like that they are always changing with the seasons. I am loving the citrus right now. Eating as much of that as I can before its season ends.
      Thanks for stopping by, Greetje!
      Adrienne

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Adrienne, just wanted to pop in with how I manage my weight on a day to day basis, which is to visualize the day ahead, and make up a food log for the day accordingly. Meaning, for example, if I’m meeting a girlfriend for lunch, I’ll look up the menu on line, determine what I will order, approximate the calories, then fill in my remaining calories for the day accordingly,

        Planning ahead is probably the most important thing I do in maintaining my weight. I’m 58 and super physically active, yet, maddeningly, I still I have to count calories to avoid weight gain, and probably always will.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is brilliant, Tamara! I love that idea. I plan my meals for the day in my head too but not when we’re eating out. I never dine out anymore because of the pandemic and we only have outdoor dining here, but when I do I will use your trick. It’s so handy that most restaurants have their menus online now.
        I agree totally with you about always having to mind our calories in our 50s (I am 53). I am accepting that this might just be the way it is from here on out of I want to prevent a future weight gain. You do get used to it but it’s still a bit of a chore. At any rate, the results – both the way I feel and the way I feel about myself – are worth the extra efforts!
        Adrienne

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I love reading that what I have evolved into over time for myself, by listening to my body, is spot on with what you’ve posted about today. Our bodies always know, don’t they?

    I also do intermittent fasting, and find like you that if my first meal of the day is substantial, it fills me up enough to be satisfied with a small meal at dinner.

    I haven’t been doing lemon in my water though, so I will be giving that a try for sure. BTW- I freeze lemon juice in ice cube trays, then put them in a ziplock bag yo use as needed. It’s approx one TBL per square, and they defrost very quickly.

    Congratulations on your weight loss journey’s end!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tamara! I will get some ice cubes and try the frozen lemon juice. It will make things so much easier, especially when we go RVing.
      I have conquered snacking, for the most part, because of that substantial lunch I have. In the beginning of my journey, my snacking was out of control. I ate more calories snacking than I probably did at lunch and dinner combined! I am glad I got a handle on that. Substantial lunches are key!
      Adrienne

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Ask Adrienne

Leave a comment