weight loss

Why I Record My Weight Loss Progress

At the start of my weight loss journey, I weighed in for the first time in a long, long time and I took my body measurements. I wrote the information down in this journal for safekeeping.

I didn’t look at the body measurement numbers again until I was certain I had made some progress, several weeks later. At that point, I got out my tape and took my measurements again, recorded them in the journal with the date then did a happy dance because I lost some inches! I continued to record my measurements several times throughout my year of losing weight.

The reason? Charting my progress was motivating and inspired me to keep forging ahead. Measurements gave me assurance beyond a weigh-in. I could clearly see, on paper, that the hard work I was doing was getting me where I wanted to go. 

I encourage you to record your progress. Even if you’ve already begun your weight loss journey, it’s not too late to start collecting that data.

This is what I did to chart, measure and record my progress:

  • I used and still use the food log on Noom but I know there are many food tracker apps out there to choose from. If you want an app, try a few out and see what works for you. You could also just use Notes in your phone or use a traditional journal or notebook. 
  • I entered my starting weight in a journal and my Noom app along with the date. Every time I weighed myself, I added the new weight and the date. 
  • I took my body measurements: upper arm, chest, smallest part of waist, regular waist where your belly button is, hips, upper thigh, and calves. That’s what I did but it’s up to you where you want to measure. Use a fabric or soft plastic measuring tape (I use this one). Be sure to record the date!
  • I took photos of myself wearing something that showed my figure. A swimsuit, yoga shorts and a tank top, or just jeans and a fitted shirt. No one but you needs to see it. I did not do that at my heaviest and I wish I had. Luckily a friend took a photo of me while we were in Tahiti last January at 235 – 240. I am so proud of myself whenever I look at my side-by-side.
  • If you plan to do down two dress sizes or more, you may be getting rid of your bigger clothing along the way. Be sure to save a pair of jeans, pants or shorts that you wore before you began your journey. You can try them on as another way to chart progress and see how far you’ve come. I keep one pair of jeans in a drawer – they are the jeans I relied on when I was at my heaviest. They have no zipper or buttons – just pull-on and they saved the day for me many times. I am oddly sentimental about them. 

You don’t have to do any of this, of course. But I am betting you’ll be thrilled you did when you start noticing changes. 

As a side note, when I measured the smallest part of my waist in early February, it was 41.5 inches. That information rang all my health alarms because I knew a waist measurement over 35″ for women can elevate the risk of heart disease. A little over 13 months later, and my waist is now 29 inches, I am happy to report. Had I not measured, I would not know about the 12 inches loss from my waist. That is a foot, people! 

Let me know if you have any questions!

Adrienne  

8 thoughts on “Why I Record My Weight Loss Progress

  1. Hi Adrienne, I have never had a small waist, even when my weight has been exactly where I want it. it’s always been my problem area. (thanks mom) I tried on a pair of jeans yesterday that I ordered online and they should have fit but didn’t. Some of my problem is the 2 meds I am on. One is notorious for increasing your appetite and weight gain, in my case it’s only about 5 or 6 pounds. But I remember years ago hearing that it’s the equivalent of a 5 lb. bag of sugar on your body! It’s really frustrating because I work out 6 days a week and I used to not have to worry about weight gain as long as I exercised.
    A few years ago at my heaviest my waist was 34″ and I starting freaking out a little because of the connection to waist measurements and heart disease. I remember Dr. Oz saying that years ago.
    I decided yesterday I really need to get back on track and watch what I am eating more, get out in the yard again because that burns calories too. (I used to be out there for hours) Also I was looking at my history on the computer and was shocked to see how much time I spend online!
    Linda
    xo

    Like

    1. Hi Linda,
      I have never had a small waist either. 29″ is as low as it will go, I think. When I was younger and at a healthy weight, I had more of an hourglass shape (your bust and hips are about 10″ bigger than your waist) but now I am more straight up and down. And I actually like it!
      So frustrating about the meds. Many medicines cause weight gain. I wonder why that is?
      When I measured my waist and it was over 41″ ALL the sirens went off. That was 6″ over heart health guidelines! And waist measurements have nothing to do with your height so I couldn’t rationalize my way out of that with a height excuse.
      Now that it’s almost spring, getting outside and working in the yard or going for walks is much more appealing. And I 100% agree with you about the online time. I need to work on that too!
      Hope you have a great start to your week! xo, Adrienne

      Like

      1. During my phone visit with my doctor yesterday, she agreed we can start tapering off one of my meds slowly…the one that causes the weight gain. Yay!
        My sister had the hourglass figure when we were younger, on top having blonde hair and she tanned easily. Typical “California Girl”, the opposite of me!

        Like

  2. Great advice Adrienne, I think the combined approach of recording progress as you did, not just figures (notes) but also through visuals (photos), is very powerful indeed for a weight loss goal. Thanks for writing so openly about your experiences (also in your other posts) and being so courageous to share your side-by-side. Very inspiring!

    Like

    1. Hi Melanie, I think it’s a good idea to record your journey in a variety of ways. One way might not mean much to you – like if you write it down then never look at it again – while others can be very inspiring and motivating, like my old jeans. Thank you for the kind words, Adrienne

      Like

  3. Thank you for sharing your personal journey. It is inspiring to me as I am sure it is to others.
    I retired at the end of 2020 and made a commitment to really focus on my health this year, so am following these conversations with great interest!
    Victoria B.

    Like

Leave a comment